Newsroom

[show

SED Announces Student Data Privacy Public Forums

SED-BORThe New York State Education Department is seeking stakeholder and public input as it develops regulations implementing New York’s student data privacy law, Education Law §2-d. We seek input specifically on (i) student data privacy; and (ii) suggestions for possible additions to the 2-d bill of rights for data privacy and security. To facilitate this, 14 public forums have been scheduled across the state to gather feedback.

PUBLIC FORUM PARTICIPATION

To participate at one of the public forums, individuals must register at the location upon arrival. Registered individuals will be assigned a number which will indicate the order in which they will speak during the forum. To allow for as many speakers as possible, each person will have a maximum of three minutes to speak.

ONLINE SUBMISSIONS

Written comments may be submitted electronically beginning May 2 and ending close of business on June 18 to PrivacyForumComment@nysed.gov. The forums are scheduled for two hours and so there are limited speaking spots. If there are more speakers at a forum than available speaking slots, individuals who are unable to submit their comments in person may do so electronically at PrivacyForumComment@nysed.gov. SED will review all comments submitted.

For more information about Student Data Privacy and Education Law 2-d, please visit the SED’s website; http://www.nysed.gov/student-data-privacy.

The complete schedule of public forums is below:

Please note registration for all forums is 5:30pm. Forums will begin at 6pm.

  • Erie 1 BOCES | Wednesday, May 2 | 355 Harlem Road, West Seneca, NY 14224
  • Monroe BOCES | Thursday, May 3 | 11 Linden Park, Rochester, NY 14625
  • South Central RICS | Monday, May 7 | 435 Glenwood Road, Binghamton, NY 13905
  • CNYRIC | Tuesday, May 8 | 6075 E. Molloy Road, Syracuse NY 13211
  • Curtis HS (S.I.) | Tuesday, May 15 | 105 Hamilton Ave, Staten Island, NY 10301
  • Champlain Valley Ed. Services | Tuesday, June 5 | 518 Rugar Street, Plattsburgh, NY 12901
  • Nassau BOCES | Wednesday, June 6 | 71 Clinton Road, Garden City NY 11530
  • Eastern Suffolk BOCES | Thursday, June 7 | 201 Sunrise Highway, Patchogue, NY 11722
  • Clinton Campus (Bronx) | Friday, June 8 | 100 W Mosholu Pkwy S, Bronx, NY 10468
  • PS 24 (Brooklyn) | Monday, June 11|  427 38th St, Brooklyn, NY 11232
  • Fashion HS (Manhattan) | Tuesday, June 12 | 225 West 24th Street, NY, NY 10011
  • LHRIC (Westchester) | Wednesday, June 13 | 450 Mamaroneck Ave. Harrison, NY 10528
  • Capital Region BOCES | Friday, June 15 900 | Watervliet Saker Road, Albany, NY 12205
  • Aviation HS (Queens) | Monday, June 18 | 45-30 36th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101

Download the flier.