From: NYSEDCommunications [mailto:NYSEDCommunications@nysed.gov]
Sent: Tuesday, June 28, 2016 11:53 AM
Subject: News Release: “TEACH” Online System Now Available for Educator Registration
New York State Board of Regents
Commissioner of Education
The State Education Department
The University of the State of New York / Albany, NY12234
Office of Communications
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 28, 2016
For More Information, Contact:
Jonathan Burman or Jeanne Beattie
“TEACH” ONLINE SYSTEM NOW AVAILABLE FOR EDUCATOR REGISTRATION
Staggered System Requires Educators to Register by Month of Birth
Educators required to register with the State Education Department can now do so through the TEACH online system, Commissioner MaryEllen Elia announced today. Beginning with the 2016-17 school year, a new state law requires that permanent and professional classroom teachers, educational leaders and Level III Teaching Assistant certificate holders register every five years and successfully complete 100 hours of Continuing Teacher and Leader Education (CTLE) requirements.
“The TEACH system is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to ensure educators the time and flexibility needed to comply with this law,” said Board of Regents Chancellor Betty Rosa. “This will also be a streamlined way for teachers to show they are attaining ongoing professional development.”
“New York’s teachers are now able to use a system with which most are already familiar, TEACH, to easily and quickly supply registration information every five years,” said Commissioner MaryEllen Elia. “The Department has made sure the process is as fast and easy as possible for those educators who qualify under this new law.”
The TEACH system is now open, on a staggered basis, for any holder of a valid teaching certificate in classroom teaching service, teaching assistant or educational leadership. These educators are required to register with the department every five years. Certificate holders have staggered registration periods to allow for re-registrations to be distributed as equally as possible:
- Individuals with a permanent or professional classroom teacher, educational leadership certificate or a Level III Teaching Assistant certificate issued prior to July 1, 2016 will apply for initial registration during the 2016-2017 school year during their month of birth, and renew their registration in the last year of each subsequent five-year period.
- Individuals whose professional or Level III Teaching Assistant certificates are issued after July 1, 2016 will be automatically registered. These individuals will then be required to re-register in five years, during the month of their birth.
These certificate holders must be registered in order to practice in a New York public school district or BOCES.
When an applicant logs into TEACH, the system will determine if they meet the requirements and will automatically direct them to the page to register. Only permanent and professional classroom teachers, school leaders and Level III Teaching Assistant certificate holders are required to register. There is no fee for registration. If a certificate holder fails to register, they may be subject to a late fee. The application will allow the certificate holder to either register or notify the Department that they are not practicing in New York and do not wish to register.
Continuing Teacher and Leader Education (CTLE):
The new law also revises the number of CTLE hours required of educators, beginning with the 2016-2017 school year:
- Holders of a professional certificate in the classroom teaching service or educational leadership service and holders of a Level III Teaching Assistant certificate (but not holders of permanent certificates) must complete 100 hours of CTLE during each five year registration period.
- This is a change from the current requirement of 175 hours for those who hold professional certificates and from 75 to 100 hours for those who hold a Level III Teaching Assistant certificate.
The law defines CTLE as activities designed to improve the teacher or leader’s pedagogical or leadership skills, targeted at improving student performance. Such activities promote the professionalism of teaching and are closely aligned to district goals for student performance which meet the standards established by the Department.
If a certificate holder does not complete the required CTLE before the end of their five-year registration period, they will not be registered and cannot practice until registered. The certificate holder can apply for a conditional registration to allow up to one year to complete the remaining CTLE hours and remain eligible to practice in a New York State public school or BOCES. When the CTLE requirement is completed, the CTLE certificate holder will be deemed registered for the remaining registration period.
The Office of Teaching provides customer support through its website, by phone, and through email for all users of the TEACH system. Online training materials and information about the new process, including a FAQ document, are available at: http://www.highered.nysed.gov/tcert/resteachers/Registration_CTLE.html.
Teachers and other system users that do not have a TEACH account can find a guide to assist them at http://www.highered.nysed.gov/tcert/teach/.