Region 8

Congratulations! 2019 SAANYS Award Winners!

Read about their accomplishments and all of the 2019 SAANYS award winners here.

SAANYS NYS High School Principal of the Year and NASSP NYS Principal of the Year

Timothy Jenny
Principal, James A. Greene High School,
Dolgeville CSD


K-12 Building Principal Award

Gregory Cuthbertson
Principal, Poland School
Poland CSD



Friend of Education Award

Darlene Browell
Owner, Darlene’s Kitchen



Regional Structure

SAANYS’ Region 8 executive committee serves members in Chenango (all but Norwich), Delaware (all but Hancock & Walton), Herkimer, Madison (all but Cazenovia), Oneida, and Otsego counties. Under the leadership of the regional chairperson, elected committee members provide collegial support for administrators and administrative units in the region. Your regional representatives are your local contact for state-level representation and coordination of services.

Region 8  Contacts

Name: Brian Coleman
Title: Board Member / Regional Chair
Phone: 315-823-4300 ext. 2133

Name: Kathleen Carney
Title: Board Member / Secretary
Phone: (315) 738-9350

Name: Michele Shirkey
Title: Regional Representative
Phone: 607-287-5767

Name: Jon Speich
Title: Regional Representative
Phone: (315) 737-3205

Name: Mary Tomaso
Title: Government Relations Committee 
Phone: 315-866-2230

Name: Zane Mahar
Title: Treasurer
Phone: (315) 717-2698

Name: Frank Sutliff
Title: Retiree Advisory Board Member