Region 6

Region 6 Leadership Breakfast

The Leadership Breakfast made it to the local news! Check out this article and video from WNYT13!

Each year, the SAANYS Region 6 Board holds its annual Leadership Breakfast in order to recognize leadership in all of its forms in our schools. This year our breakfast will be held on May 22 from 9-11 am at the Van Patten Golf Club in Clifton Park. We will recognize student leaders in grades 5-12 from area schools, our senior scholarship winners, leaders among our administrative colleagues as well as “Friends” of Education.

This year’s winners are:

Excelsior Award Winners:

Gwynne Cosh -Principal of William H. Barton Intermediate School Queensbury Union Free School District

Joby Gifford -Principal of Jefferson Elementary School Schalmont Central School District

Rich Johns – Retired Saratoga Springs City School District Teacher/Act with Respect Always

Jennie Pennington Award Winner:

Suzanne Rayome -Burnt Hills Ballston Lake Central School District K-12 Supervisor of Library Media

Friend of Education Award Winners

Mark Mullholland – News Channel 13 WNYT

Subrina Dhammi -News Channel 13 WNYT

Region 6 Student Scholarship Recipients

Zoe Geiger, Ichabod Crane High School

Olivia Gibeault, Ichabod Crane High School

Michael Gutchell, Shenendehowa High School

Sara Hotailing, Ravena Coeymans Selkirk High School

Ella Irons, South Colonie High School

Amanda Jurgelon, Mohonasen High School

ShawnJohn Kannermore, Mohonasen High School

Sean Kilmartin, Shenendehowa High School

David Mooradian, Averill Park High School

Dina Santabarbara, Schalmont High School

Carissa Shanahan, Cohoes High School

Emma Winslow, Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake High School

Leadership Awards

Cambridge Elementary School

Fritz Weber

Wesley Galusha

Helena McGowan

Daniel Tortorice

Galway Central School Joseph Henry Elementary

Emma DiPasquale

Lilyana Chevalier

Lake George Elementary School

Clara Fish

Hope Nichols

Lina Caldaroni

Drew Meyer

Lake George Jr./Sr. High School

Alexis Pape

Samantha Gorey

Jason Ludlow

Lilly Montville

Mechanicville Jr/Sr High School

Paige Rogers

Alanna Abraham-Dixon

Logan Starks

Lillian Moore

Mohonasen Pinewood Intermediate School

Aya Sadiki

Mohonasen Draper Middle School

Graham Pikcilingis

Mohonasen High School

Sarina Gianastasio

Mya Romeo

Jocelyn Howe

Queensbury High School

Ryan Greenstein

Chase Baker

Masen Angell

Shauna Mower

Queensbury William H. Barton Intermediate School

Sophie VanHatten

Luke Huffaker

Christopher Smith

Jillian Frenyea

Queensbury Middle School

Jaden Telesco

Nathan Bogucki

Olivia Miller

Khloe Banner

Schuylerville High School

Daniel Carozza

Rhylie Lynch

Taylor Dennis

Arden Talmage

Shenendehowa Central School Acadia Middle School

Veer Arora

Madalyn Hill

Addison Milham-Hathaway

George Smolen

Shenendehowa Central School Gowana Middle School

Milan Brown

Maci Zeilman

Wyatt Rueda

Leah Sammons

Shenendehowa Central School Koda Middle School

Sara Dedic

Ralph Hoag

Anjali Rachamallu

Valeriia Povysheva

Region 6 Support a Scholar Charity Golf Tournament


July 20, 2023
Fairways at Halfmoon
17 Johnson Rd., Halfmoon, NY 12118

Each year, SAANYS Region 6 awards scholarships to college bound seniors who attend schools in our region. This golf event enables our committee to expand our scholarship offerings. We urge educators to join us for an exciting day of golf, good food, and fun at The Fairways of Halfmoon. There will be prizes for first, second, and third place foursomes, as well as thank you gifts for all participants.

Sponsorship Opportunities!

SAANYS Region 6 welcomes businesses and organizations willing to assist our Support A Scholar Charity Golf Tournament in two sponsorship levels:

Friend of Education Sponsor | $750 donation

Benefits include:

  • Registration for up to 4 golfers.
  • Signage at the tournament tee.
  • Recognition of your donation at our 2023 Leadership breakfast.

Tee Sign Sponsor | $100 donation

Benefits include:

  • Signage at a tournament tee.
  • Acknowledgment in the Support A Scholar Tournament program and on the SAANYS Website.

Schedule of Events:

8:00am – 8:50am | Registration/Check-in
9:00am | Shotgun Start Scramble
1:00pm | Lunch Buffet
2:00pm | Awards

Registration Deadline: July 13, 2023

Registration includes golf, cart, lunch buffet, awards, and scholarship donation.

Open Division Fee: $140 per golfer
Mulligans: 2 for $10 (available at the door)
Tee Sign Sponsors: $100 donation
Friend of Education Sponsor: $750 donation


  • List the others in your foursome in the Notes field on the registration form
  • Each player must complete this form separately
  • Sponsors – fill in the registration form for payment and then email Bryan Wood to arrange advertising and signage details.

For further information, please contact:

Bryan Wood at (518) 506-1897 or email:

Download the flyer.


Regional Structure

Under the leadership of the regional chairperson, elected committee members provide collegial support for administrators and administrative units in the region. Your regional representatives are your local contact for state-level representation and coordination of services.

Region 6  Contacts

Serving members in Albany, Columbia, Fulton, Greene, Hamilton, Montgomery, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Warren, and Washington counties.

Name: Jim Conway
Title: Regional Chair
Phone: (518) 955-0264

Name: Jessica Rossetti
Title: Vice Chair
Phone: (518) 824-1600

Name: Jason Thompson
Title: Past Chair
Phone: (518) 429-0380

Name: Karen Urbanski
Title: Treasurer, Retiree Advisory Board
Phone: (518) 339-4377

Name: Megan Collins
Title: Secretary
Phone: (518) 530-7475

Name: Tom Sands
Title: Regional Representative
Phone: (518) 587-6777

Name: Jennifer Drautz
Title: Board Member
Phone: (518) 765-3314 ext. 421

Name: Linda Klime
Title: Board Member
Phone: (518) 233-6850

Name: Chris Sanita
Title: Government Relations Committee
Phone: (518) 357-2770

Name: Tammy Silvernell
Title: Government Relations Committee
Phone: (518) 744-2411

Name: Bonnie Tryon
Title: Government Relations Committee Retiree
Phone: (518) 231-4695

Committee Members: Gene Gordon, Mike Riggi, Bryan Wood, Craig Chandler, Robin Gawrys