Region 6

LongfellowsRegion 6 Annual Awards Breakfast

 

urbanskiSAANYS Region 6 was proud to recognize and honor local school administrators, student leaders in Grades 4-12, student scholarship recipients, and contributors to the field of education at their awards ceremony on May 22.

Pictured here is Karen Urbanski, Rensselaer Junior-Senior High School principal, recipient of the Jennie Pennington Award. This award is given in name of Jennie C. Pennington, who dedicated her professional career to her students, staff, and community. Jennie was an exemplary English teacher, an involved supervisor, an exceptional high school principal, and champion of the teaching and school leadership professions.

Other awards included the Excelsior Awards presented to: Colleen Lester, Cambridge Elementary Principal and Robert Messia, Algonguin Middle School Principal.

The Region 6 Friend of Education Award was presented to Fulton County Sheriff Richard C. Giardino.

In addition, 64 students were presented with awards for student leadership and 10 graduating seniors where presented with SAANYS Region 6 scholarships.

 

 

Congratulations 2018 SAANYS Award Winners!

Michael-Dardaris-150

NYS High School Principal of the Year
Michael Dardaris
HFM PTECH

 

 

Gene-Gordon-150Irving Schwartz Distinguished Retiree Award
Gene Gordon
Schalmont CSD (retired)

 

 

 

Regional Structure

Under the leadership of the regional chairperson, elected committee members provide collegial support for administrators and administrative units in the region. Your regional representatives are your local contact for state-level representation and coordination of services.

Region 6  Contacts

Serving members in Albany, Columbia, Fulton, Greene, Hamilton, Montgomery, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Warren, and Washington counties.

Name: Jennifer Drautz
Title: Board Member
Email: jdrautz@voorheesville.org
Phone: (518) 765-3314 ext. 421

Name: Karen Urbanski
Title: Treasurer
Email:  kurbanski@rcsd.k12.ny.us
Phone: (518) 436-8561

Name: Linda Klime

Title: Board Member
Email: lklime@lansingburgh.org
Phone: (518) 233-6850

Name: Chris Sanita
Title: Regional Chair / Government Relations Committee
Email: sanitac@guilderlandschools.net
Phone: (518) 357-2770

Name: John Wyld
Title: Regional Vice Chair 
Email: john.wyld@neric.org
Phone: (518) 862-5327

Name: Tom Sands
Title: Regional Representative
Email: tsandsjr@hotmail.com
Phone: (518) 587-6777

Name: Bryan Wood
Title: Government Relations Committee
Email: bwood@cohoes.org
Phone: (518) 237-9100 ext. 1404

Name: Bonnie Tryon
Title: Government Relations Committee Retiree
Email: btryon12@nycap.rr.com

Name: Gene Gordon
Title: Retiree Advisory Board 
Email: genegordon@aol.com
Phone: (518) 669-2702