Region 5

Scenes from the Region 5 Summer Celebration

Region 5 School Building Leader Award

School Building Leader Award

SAANYS Deputy Director Don Nickson (left) ith award winner Carole Kelder, principal of Mt. Marion Elementary School (Saugerties CSD) and several colleagues.

Region 5 Scholarship winners

Scholarship Award Winners

Two award winners with scholarships of $750 each – from left to right are: Don Nixon, scholarship winners Michael Averill from Saugerties High School (Saugerties CSDt) and Katherine Bacolas from Clarkstown South High School (Clarkstown CSD), Tom Sands, and Mike Dawkins.

Region 5 Retirees

Region 5 Retirees

In the photo from left to right are: Don Nixon, retirees Justin Schaef (Washingtonville CSD), Donna McDonald, Tom Sands, and Mike Dawkins.




Congratulations 2018 SAANYS Award Winner!


NYS Middle School Principal of the Year (NAESP) 

Charles Tadduni
Rondout Valley CSD


Regional Structure

SAANYS’ Region 5 executive committee serves members throughout Orange, Rockland, Sullivan, and Ulster counties. Under the leadership of the regional chairperson, elected committee members provide collegial support for administrators and administrative units in the region. Your regional representatives are your local contact for state-level representation and coordination of services.


Region 5  Contacts

Name: Christine Arlt
Title: Board Member
Phone: 845-460-6700

Name: Harry Leonardatos
Title: Board Member
Phone: 845-639-6504

Name: Henrie (Hank) Priester-Werte
Title: Regional Chair
Phone: 845-291-0290

Name: Tom Averill
Title: Regional Vice-Chair
Phone: 845-247-6655  |  c: 845-389-1076

Name: Tom Sands
Title: Regional Representative
Phone: 518-587-6777

Name: Mike Dawkins
Title: Regional Representative

Name: Robert Thomann
Title: Government Relations Committee 
Phone: 845-514 4237

Name: Marystephanie Corsones
Title: Government Relations Committee Retiree

Name: Justin Schaef
Title: Secretary

Name: Saggie Rudecindo-O’Neill
Title: Treasurer

Name: Anne Kelly  
Title: Retiree Advisory Board 
Phone: 914-388-0946