Nassau Co. (Region 2)

SAANYS Region 2 Newsletter – November 2022

Stay up-to-date with what’s happening in Region 2. This month’s newsletter includes:

  • Stay True to Yourself – by John Singleton
  • SAANYS Region 2 Mixer – by Emily O’Brien
  • SAANYS Spotlight: Cultural Competency Simulation

Download a PDF of the newsletter.


“JUST OVER THREE YEARS AGO, THE GARDEN CITY ADMINISTRATORS ASSOCIATION CAST A UNANIMOUS VOTE TO SWITCH OUR REPRESENTATION TO SAANYS. OUR AFFILIATION WITH SAANYS HAS BEEN THE ABSOLUTE RIGHT DECISION AND CONTINUES TO RECEIVE UNANIMOUS UNIT APPROVAL. OUR ASSOCIATION SHOULD HAVE MADE THIS MOVE LONG AGO.”
GARDEN CITY ADMINISTRATORS ASSOCIATION
“WHEN AFFILIATED WITH SAANYS YOU ARE AFFILIATED WITH A TEAM OF EXPERTS WHO ARE READY, WILLING, AND ABLE TO ASSIST YOU. SAANYS UNDERSTANDS HOW IMPORTANT IT IS TO PROVIDE THEIR MEMBERS WITH OUTSTANDING CUSTOMER SERVICE. WHETHER IT BE LEGAL ADVICE OR CONTRACT NEGOTIATIONS, THE SAANYS TEAM IS ALWAYS THERE TO PROVIDE THE SUPPORT YOU NEED!”
– EAST ISLIP ADMINISTRATORS’ ASSOCIATION

 

LIlogoLIGHT

“THE SAANYS TEAM … IS ALWAYS AVAILABLE TO TAKE OUR CALL AND ALWAYS SEEMS TO HAVE THE RIGHT PERSON ON HAND TO ADDRESS OUR ISSUE OR CONCERN. THEIR SUPPORT AND GUIDANCE HAS BEEN INVALUABLE TO OUR DISTRICT’S ADMINISTRATIVE TEAM.”
-DEER PARK ADMINISTRATIVE ASSOCIATION

 

 

    • SAANYS uses attorneys and experienced administrators together during negotiations – unparalleled legal support and the invaluable guidance of experienced Long Island school leaders.
    • 5 Full-time attorneys, plus legal firms in Garden City & Islandia. SAANYS has worked with the teams at these reputable LI firms for over 12 and 20 years respectively.
    • SAANYS is the only association with the resources and willingness to represent you in two major litigations: The NYSHIP contractual health insurance “buyout” issue and the attack on tenure and seniority rights by Campbell Brown and others. Who is fighting for you?

Region 2  Contacts

Name: Cassandra Papajohn-Shaw
Title: Regional Co-Chair
Email: cpapajohn@sewanhakaschools.org

Name: Dr. Alex Rivera
Title: Regional Co-Chair
Email: arivera@jerichoschools.org

Name: Dr. Pia Linda Ferrante
Title: Secretary
Email: pferrante@portnet.org

Name: John Singleton
Title: NAESP Representative
Email: jsingleton@vs30.org

Name: Scott Comis
Title: Board Member, President-elect
Email: scomis@vs24.org
Phone: (516) 256-0165

Name: Susan Leggett
Title: Regional Events Coordinator
Email: sleggett@vs24.org

Name: Frank McDermott
Title: Regional Representative
Email: fmcdermott2@gmail.com
Phone: (718) 428-1117

Name: Thomas Mangano
Title: Regional Representative
Email: eddoc2k@yahoo.com
Phone: (631) 807-9233

Name: Regina Huffman
Title: Government Relations Committee
Email: rhuffman@sewanhakaschools.org

Name: Dr. Richard Mangeri
Title: Board Member
Email: rmangeri@hewlett-woodmere.net

Name: Carol Muscarella
Title: Retiree Advisory Board Member
Email: carolf.muscarella@gmail.com